home | weblog | archive | links | about | host
it hurts when i do this
(the college years)

< 2002-03-26 >

Now Approaching...The Line 2002-03-26 1:07 p.m. Damn, It Moved Again

Did you ever think about doing something? I�m sure you have. Something bad, something you knew you�d be punished for�if you got caught. You look around to see if anyone�s looking, and then it�s time to decide. Throw caution to the wind or play it safe? What do you do, what do you do? And if you do the wrong thing, are you a bad person?

It comes down to a question of morals, really. Morals are a thing � intangible in a very real way. And everyone�s morals are different. What is totally commonplace and everyday to one person could be totally reprehensible and shameful to another person.

I�ve been reading Captain Saturday by Robert Inman. I�ll try to dance around anything spoilerish, but one of the main characters points out that everyone has two lives: the life you live and the life you�d live if you had the balls for it, something like that. Sometimes, I try to imagine what would happen if some of these tight-ass people had had the balls to live their own lives instead of letting life happen to them. It�s hard to see some of them running naked through the streets of New Orleans or riding the interstate from one end to the other just for the hell of it. Maybe it�s because the area in which I live has an excess of engineers.

To clarify, I�m not here to tell you what to do. I�m just here to say, �Hey, this is a thing. Maybe we should think about it.� Because, to me, a lot of people would be a lot happier if they made decisions for themselves instead of constantly thinking about the big picture. So I suppose I am here to tell you what to do. Think about the consequences, but also think, �Will it matter in ten years?� If the answer is no, go for it. If the answer is yes, think about why it will matter and make your decision based on that. In the meantime, I�ll be sitting here, getting ready for the life I would live if I had some balls, which, by the way, are on order. But try not to think too much, because that just leads to more trouble.

guestbook | update list

Copyright � 2000-2004 tittlemouse.com
Don't make me break my foot off in your ass.