home | weblog | archive | links | about | host
it hurts when i do this
(the college years)

< August 21, 2003 >

Why Don't You Get A Job? August 21, 2003 1:48 p.m. It�s time for me to snap out of it. I�ve been living in the dorms since Saturday, and it has been quite possibly the laziest time of my life. I was sure nothing would top this summer, what with my sleeping until eleven and watching trashy daytime shows on television, but somehow I�ve stumbled into a situation where I have even less to do. It�s what I always dreamed of, but there are a few kinks in the system.

None of my classes start before nine and all (with the exception of a weekly lab) are over by two. If I were in class a solid five hours every day (which I�m not), that would still leave me with nineteen responsibility-free hours to while away however I choose. This is obviously not good. Sure, I have some studying to do. I know, I know, it�s going to be harder than it was last year. It would have to be, because I only did two things last year: government team and newspaper. We put out a quality paper and got robbed at the annual awards, we put out some quality government essays and got robbed at the national competition, I went home, I went to sleep. That was the academic portion of my senior year.

Of course, I did quite a bit more last year outside school. I found love, I worked a damn lot, I went out with friends. Love, work, and friends are all available to me here at College University. I just have to go out and get them. Actually, since the other two are somewhat intangible, I suppose I only have to go out and get one of them: work.

The system of hanging out in the dorm room eating Swedish Fish and watching FX works at first, but then I start to wonder where my next bag of Swedish Fish will come from. My parents aren�t around to buy me groceries anymore and my disposable income is questionable at this point in my life. I might as well get used to it, because I�m going to be counting change for much of the foreseeable future. I need a plan for when my emergency supply of Ramen runs out.

Now it�s time to get a job. I�m eligible for work study, but I�m not sure they have the kind of job I need. I don�t cut grass or trim bushes or any of that �outside� shit. I�m not saying I�m above those jobs. I�m saying I suck at those jobs. I�ll do a crappy job and get fired, so don�t bother even hiring me for lawn care, building maintenance, or anything in that vein.

The campus jobs website (you know, the one for work study jobs) has been less than helpful. Damn my class schedule. It�s going to make finding a job incredibly difficult. I suppose I shouldn�t have waited so long to find a campus job. All the good ones (library assistant, lab technician, dessert tester) are taken and the other ones either completely suck or are during my classes.

I loved the job I just left, and it�s a national chain so I should have no trouble working at the franchise here, but one of the best parts about the old store was the flexible schedule. I basically made my own schedule and I loved it. I never had to worry about whether I�d be available this day or that to go to Washington, D.C. or something. I just put in my schedule request and it became a reality.

I�m going to miss that when I get some sort of shift work job here. Sounds like tons of fun, but that�s the American way. Kids, you can go to college and try to get an education, but you�ll have to get an uninteresting job or three to pay your own way. Too bad this state tax plan is a total joke. If it were anything more than a pipe dream, we�d all get full academic scholarships and the world would be a better place.

If you need me, I�ll be filling out an application for Wal-Mart cashier. Me at Wal-Mart! Think of it: the dim lighting, the glamour, the 10% discount!

Someone got here by searching for: "chip and reichen break up" No! At least, not before tonight. Reading: There are so many layers (read: I'm damn lazy and have no ability to apply myself) to an issue of xy. I plowed through the article on clothing and sexual politics and now it's on to the music section. Listening to: The Sundays Watching: Gearing up for the big Amazing Race finale tonight. Everyone together now, one last time: Go, Chipsters!

guestbook | update list

Copyright � 2000-2004 tittlemouse.com
Don't make me break my foot off in your ass.