home | weblog | archive | links | about | host
it hurts when i do this
(the college years)

< June 18, 2003 >

The DC Diaries, Part Three: Schmitz June 18, 2003 4:14 p.m.

I'd be in the bar, but I don't drink. I never have. It just holds no appeal for me. But were I a drinking woman, I'd be in the bar.

The night started out wonderfully. The kids performed really well earlier in the day and I could not have been prouder of them. It's always interesting to see the students react to the fact that this entire mall has been cleared out for the dance, and this year's group was just as excited as the previous groups, if not more so.

The dance itself is a sight to see. There are kids from all fifty states together in one room. These are supposed to be the intellectually oriented kids, but they all know how to have a good time, too. Sure, there are some wallflowers playing cards in the far corner, but the real action is by the DJ booth. The kids are crammed in tight, dancing in one huge, fluid mass. It's almost hypnotizing to watch this.

I'll admit that I did get swept up into the melee, and I had a wonderful time. It's a different way to become connected with the students than I'm used to, but that doesn't mean I can't have a good time doing it. There were one or two in the group that got a little wild, but that's to be expected in a crowd this large.

Anyway, it was all fun and games right up until the top ten teams were announced. The room fell into a hushed silence as the names were read off. Any time you have fifty competing groups and you're narrowing it down to ten, you're leaving forty groups disappointed. Of course, California made the top ten, as did New York, Florida, and seven other states. I can't remember all of them. All I can tell you is that when the tenth name was read and it wasn't Alabama, I was truly suprised and perhaps even a little disappointed, not necessarily in the students so much as the judges. The students did the absolute best that they could and I'm very proud that they made it this far. Still, I can't help but wonder what would've happened if we'd made the top ten. It's been a tumultuous eight months, what with the school board's decision about my salary, my ensuing resignation, and the whole experience with my fill-in, and this year's team was my last, best chance.

The other teachers said they couldn't do it, that they weren't dedicated enough. At least the students proved everyone wrong. No one back at school even believed they'd make it past the regional competition, much less go all the way to nationals. And when they did, when they clawed their way to the top, where was the support from the school? These students deserve to be recognized for their accomplishments. If this were a sports team, the administration would have kept a high profile at every event in which we participated. We would have had no trouble raising the money to pay for our trip. But that's the way it's always been, unfortunately.

It's tough losing, because these kids were really good. They deserved to win. They've put in a considerable amount of their free time, time they could have been out with their friends, working, or participating in a myriad of other extracurricular activities. I think that's something else that should be said about this group. Some of the schools at this competition do nothing but eat, sleep, and breathe government for four years. Our team is so well rounded because they participate in such a wide variety of activities. These students are truly remarkable.

There's no point dwelling on it, though, or getting bitter. We still have two more days in Washington and we're going to get up tomorrow and proceed as planned with our itinerary. This is our trip to Washington and it's our chance to enjoy it. The kids are going to have a lot of fun tomorrow because after the morning hearings, they are on their own in the city. I've been doing this for many years, and if there's one thing I've learned, it's that they need time for themselves or they won't produce when you need them to. And Tuesday we'll get to see the House and the Senate. The kids will get to meet their elected officials. It's so nice that they've agreed to see us, because I know how busy their schedules are. Bottom line, I do what I've always done: keep on keeping on.

My name is Sue Schmitz and I am more proud of my students than you can know.

guestbook | update list

Copyright � 2000-2004 tittlemouse.com
Don't make me break my foot off in your ass.