home | weblog | archive | links | about | host
it hurts when i do this
(the college years)

< October 10, 2003 >

The Friday Five, #6 October 10, 2003 4:17 p.m.

I'm getting tired of these suck-ass FF questions, but for the sake of turning out an entry, I may as well tackle a topic I really dislike: sports.

1. Do you watch sports? If so, which ones?

I don't watch sports, as a rule. I'm not a big fan of them. I'm sort of the antithesis of the 'typical' football-loving, baseball-playing male, which should come as a surprise to exactly no one.

My family, of course, has a deep-rooted love for sport that has given me plenty of exposure to televised coverage. For years, I cheered for the Atlanta Braves (that's baseball, for the athletically retarded in the readership) and the Buffalo...Giants (football), I think, although I don't really remember, and I'm not even sure why my dad liked them so much.

Once I got more into television, I got less into sports, because they interrupted the regularly scheduled programming I loved so much. They're generally blocked for three hours, and sometimes they'll come in under and affiliates will have to fill with Cops reruns or whatever, but more often than not, they'll run over, either a) pre-empting something I want to watch or b) putting everything on a delay, thereby fucking up my ability to tape anything. Award shows do the same thing I suppose, but there are only a handful of those each year as compared to the number of televised sporting events.

The only sport I really watch now is cross-country, and I really only watch the practices. There are some cute boys who run the practice track across the street from the dorms, and I have an excellent view from my window.

2. What/who are your favorite sports teams and/or favorite athletes?

I should just skip this question outright, but I will say that I really got behind David Justice around 1993, to the point where I was thrilled that his then soon-to-be ex-wife Halle Berry in The Flintstones movie. Wow, I'm a dork. I was never really about hero worship, but when the Packers won the Super Bowl (at least, I think they did), I'll admit I joined America in a flash-in-the-pan crush on Brett Favre.

3. Are there any sports you hate?

There are no sports I hate outright, but there are some I question the necessity of. Sports aren't really all that necessary in the first place, especially not on the grand scale that they've escalated to in recent years. No one needs to be paid twelve million dollars per home run; it's ridiculous.

If there were a sport that I'd have to dislike more than the others, I'd go with soccer, if only because I refuse to believe that it's the world's most popular sport. It's not that I don't understand the game; I do. I just think that it's sort of boring to watch, I guess because we have fewer soccer riots in America than in other countries.

4. Have you ever been to a sports event?

I've been to more sporting events than I care to mention. I can't even begin to guesstimate the number of baseball games I've attended in my life; let's just leave it that it's too many. When I was in the middle school chorus, we were often invited to sing the national anthem at various sporting events around the area and I thus experienced everything from basketball to hockey. In fact, I think my dad got season tickets for our hockey team one year, so I got to go every now and then.

5. Do/did you play any sports (in school or other)? How long did you play?

I certainly don't play sports now, unless they're thinking of adding 'running haphazardly down six flights of stairs because the elevator is still broken' to the Olympic lineup.

But there were more than a few years where I sucked at baseball, which is a story I've already told in the space. My mom read that story, actually, and made plenty of good points about how it painted my parents in an unfavorable light and how I might have liked baseball if I'd given it more of a chance, but by the time I quit, I was more excited about catching up on Unsolved Mysteries reruns than catching fly balls, so I guess it was for the best.

Someone got here by searching for: where do you want to eat Reading: Anything and everything. I'm staying close to campus this weekend in what is probably a futile attempt to get caught up on my required readings for my classes. Listening to: Incessant chatter in a 'quiet' computer lab. Watching: Last week's Joan of Arcadia. I really like that show. Eating: Tonight is Ghetto Mexican! Yay! Also exciting: JournalCon is next Friday! Woo!

guestbook | update list

Copyright � 2000-2004 tittlemouse.com
Don't make me break my foot off in your ass.