home | weblog | archive | links | about | host
it hurts when i do this
(the college years)

< September 05, 2003 >

The Friday Five, #1 September 05, 2003 10:31 a.m.

An It Hurts When I Do This first: The Friday Five.

1. What housekeeping chore(s) do you hate doing the most?

Wow, there are so many to choose from. Let�s see. Dusting sucks, because it strikes me as so fake. It�s what the maid (if we ever had one) does when she wants to pretend like she�s not eavesdropping. I hate cleaning the bathroom. I shared a bathroom with my sister and we were supposed to alternate weeks cleaning it, but I would always be conveniently unavailable when it was time to clean the bathroom. And it�s not that I think it�s gross (except when all her leg hair clogged the shower drain. I�m serious. We were pulling it out in clumps.), it�s that I don�t like to scrub things, I guess. Ooh, do dishes count as a household chore, because I absolutely hate dishes with every fiber of my being. Die, dishes! At our house, we always had to wash the dishes before we put them in the dishwasher, like they do on The O.C. Now I share a bathroom with sixty other people, but at least I don�t have to clean it. And those wonderful people in the cafeteria do all my dishes. Well, almost all of them. I think I have a dirty Ramen bowl in my room right now.

2. Are there any that you like or don't mind doing?

I guess if I had to do a chore or get shot in the face, I would vacuum something. Vacuuming is quick, it�s painless, and it scares the dog. I also don�t hate laundry because a machine does all the work for me. I just have to be a little color-coordinated and everything�s kewl. Of course, now it�s Coin-Operated Laundry City for me (and let�s not forget that I am straight-up broke) and the basket in my room is awfully full of whites, so I�ll be paying extra-special attention to the coin return slots around campus this weekend. Guess how much it costs to do laundry. Go on, guess. It�s 50 cents to wash and 75 cents to dry, for a grand total of $1.25. I suppose that�s not bad, and the machines generally get everything clean (I�m generous with the soap), so I have no complains. Well, except that I�ve already paid this school my entire life savings, so why can�t the laundry be free?

3. Do you have a routine throughout the week or just clean as it's needed?

A routine? Um, I wait for the garbage cans to stop containing mess before I trot down the hall and empty them into the big boys. Does that qualify as a routine? It�s tile floor, so we can�t vacuum. I wouldn�t even know where to find a mop (although the floor could probably use it). I don�t have anything other than a sock with which to dust, and all the really painful stuff is taken care of by the staff, as I mentioned. I make my bed every morning, too. My mother would be proud, I think. No, I suppose I don�t have a routine so much as a distaste for overflowing garbage cans. I understand that�s becoming a problem in New York City once again; at least, that�s what they said on BBC News last night. I like BBC News. Also, I spray the Country Summer Days Doesn�t Really Smell Like Anything But It�s Better Than the Lingering Aroma of My Roommate�s Cigarette Smoke Lysol every now and then.

4. Do you have any odd cleaning/housekeeping quirks or rules?

Right before I moved out, my mom started trying to make us clean the bathroom about every other day. Granted, there were two teenagers using it, but it was never a disaster or anything. Mom was just picky about...I don�t know what, because I never really thought it was dirty. So I guess my cleaning rule is, "Don�t clean anything more than twice in a one-week period."

5. What was the last thing you cleaned?

Technically, the last thing I cleaned was "out my nose," because it�s been a real snotfest for me this week. Before that, I cleaned myself in the shower this morning. And one of these days I�m going to have to break down and bathe my pack mule Gregory. As far as actually cleaning actual things, I�m going to have to think for a minute, because I don�t do a lot of it. I cleaned off the dry erase board the other day. Does that count? I�m not a slob, really, but I don�t have a whole lot to clean. Now I feel guilty. I did wax poetic about the cleanliness of the bathrooms to the janitor on my floor the other day, so that counts for something, I hope. But I�m going to have to go pick up trash on campus or something to assuage my laziness guilt, which I�ve just now decided should be a whole new branch of psychological study: laziness guilt. I�ll have to get right on that tomorrow. Or maybe the next day.

Someone got here by searching for: "How the ATM works" It doesn't, though. Reading: Back issues of the JournalCon newsletter. Austin, here I come! Listening to: I've been singing this song from a movie y'all have probably never seen, but it's a whole story for another day. Watching: Did you know that Coach is on Nick at Nite at, like, 1:30AM? I always hated that show.

guestbook | update list

Copyright � 2000-2004 tittlemouse.com
Don't make me break my foot off in your ass.