home | weblog | archive | links | about | host
it hurts when i do this
(the college years)

< August 14, 2003 >

Crawl. August 14, 2003 2:53 p.m.
"Faces I remember I still see. Places in my memory hold on to me. And I can't wait to crawl out of my shell." - "Crawl," Thisway
"I can't remember all the times I've tried to tell myself to hold on to these moments as they pass." - "A Long December," Counting Crows

It's been (and will continue to be) a bittersweet week. I've been reuniting with old friends, with whom I dissected pivotal moments of the last few years. I've gone out on the town with new friends, with whom I discovered new worlds entirely. I've wondered what's up with friends I'm missing, near and far.

It's good to reconnect with the people that are important to you every once in awhile, especially when they pick up the tab. Free food is your friend. The sucky part is when I realize that no matter how much fun I have (or have had; my Freshman Comp professor is going to have nightmares over me, I promise) with these people, I still have to say goodbye to them when it's over.

It's moving to Alabama all over again, what with the sadness and me not believing it's happening and everyone doing their dead-level best not to burst into tears. For the record, though, the Alabama experience hasn't been as vomit-inducingly awful as the brochure (read: a Cops marathon one time) may have led me to believe. I mean, most of the people I've met have had a majority of their teeth, so that's something.

"If I wait too long, how am I ever going to reach my destination? Now I know the time has come. It's all right here and it's all so clear to me." - "Crawl," Thisway

Waking up at noon is great work if you can get it. But when you have shit to do, it can throw your whole day off, which is what it did to me today. (Know what else can throw you off? Having to sleep on the couch because company is conked out in your room. But I digress. I'm not bitter, though, for real. Why would I bust on my family when I was extolling the virtues of reconnecting with people a mere four paragraphs ago?) I felt overwhelmed, like I was running in place as I frantically scrambled to check things off my to-do list. I didn't feel like doing anything today, and I know it's my second-to-last day of summer and all, but I can't afford to be slothful right now. Oh, look, Weakest Link is on. ("Bank, you stupid ho! Bank already! You just cost the team $25,000, dumbass.")

Okay, I'm back. Almost everything is packed now. I still have to do my big electronics (they're so fancy they have their own boxes; don't tell me I'm the only one who saves the boxes things come in) and some little things like my alarm clock, but the bulk of worldly possessions sits in boxes near the door of my room, ready to be moved to a new home. I suspect that they all talk to each other when they're alone, plotting their escape. It's The Brave Little Toaster by way of Toy Story in here. (And am I the only one that noticed that Toy Story is a glaringly blatant ripoff of The Brave Little Toaster, or am I just the first person to say something about it? They were the exact same movie, people, except one had fancier animation and a younger kid. Okay, that's my relevational rant for the day, and yes, I did just make up the word 'relevational.' Thanks for asking.) I'm going to get to University Town only to discover that the lamp ran away with the picture frame somewhere just past the county line.

It's unreal that I'll be on my own (finally!) in a little more than a day. Ah, horrible, horrible freedom. The world is mine. I'm going to pull it around, rip it down, and put it in my pocket (TM Chris Farley) or, failing that, eat a damn lot of Ramen and stay up late talking about boys on the phone. I'm ready, but is anyone ever really ready for his whole life to change? You just have to go with it, and hope life tosses you more lemons than clams or tomatoes, because lemonade is way, way better than Clamato.

Someone got here by searching for: picture of ashton kutcher's hair Reading: Trying desperately to finish Don't Pee on My Leg and Tell Me It's Raining before I have to give it back to the library. Also, looking forward to cracking open xy40: Smoking Drinking & Screwing. Get yours today! Listening to: So many mix CDs that remind me of friends past and present. Watching: Justice Roy Moore making an ass of himself on the local news. This is the kind of thing that makes people not want to move to Alabama.

guestbook | update list

Copyright � 2000-2004 tittlemouse.com
Don't make me break my foot off in your ass.