home | weblog | archive | links | about | host
it hurts when i do this
(the college years)

< August 17, 2003 >

The College Years August 17, 2003 2:54 p.m.

Granted, it's been less than twenty-four hours, but so far, college is way less fun than advertised. I plan to stick it out, though, for at least a week before calling the 1-800 number for my full refund.

Part of the problem is probably self-inflicted. I caught a cold last Wednesday that has followed me around like an annoying brat of a babysitting charge, clawing and pawing at me to no end. It started out slow, with me being extra-tired. Before long, though, the sore throat showed up with a deck of cards and dealt in the stiff neck and the fever with chills, a full house of inconvenient physical ailments. And if you have any questions about how this is affecting my mental state, know that I just used a babysitting metaphor and a poker metaphor in the same paragraph.

As if this cold didn't suck enough on its own, I had to pack up my entire life and move in the middle of this. But before that, I had to struggle through a last day at work and say goodbye to the people who have been my second family for the past two years. I'll miss them like crazy.

Believe it or not, it's really hard to pack and load boxes when you can't move your neck. The whole process had to be completed in baby steps, which made it take about twice as long. I finally got everything unpacked and organized around 6:00 last night, but that's when boredom and restlessness seeped under the door.

Boredom because there is absolutely nothing going on and restlessness because even if there were something to do, I wouldn't have the patience for it.

You would think that in a town that has nothing but a college and a Wal-Mart, the students of that college would throw some damn parties on a Saturday night already. To their credit, the RAs organized some kind of ice cream social, but I could only stay for about ten minutes because I was so self-conscious. I could hear the whispers behind my back, the other students gawking at my 'handicap' and speculating as to the nature of my 'disability.' Plus, a killer cold isn't exactly the housewarming gift I want to give.

The restlessness comes from my short attention span, which may or may not be a symptom of this sucky, sucky cold. I keep thinking of things to do, but as soon as I start doing them, I become bored and think of something else I'd rather be doing. I can't read. I don't have the patience. That would have to be the worst part. And to top it all off, I have this unexplainable craving for KFC mashed potatoes. Whatever, Pat.

I'm glad to have cable back, but now I remember why I didn't really miss it that much. There's nothing on it, especially on Saturday nights. I'm over Trading Spaces (finally) and some dumbass tried to redo Battle of the Network Stars, at which point I had to find a movie. But movies only last about ninety minutes, so after that I was bored and restless some more. We have free internet access in our dorm room, but for some reason we can't seem to get it to work, which is frustrating as hell.

I ended up driving around with my roommate, once at 9:00 and again at 2:00 in the morning. The only thing open the second time was (gasp!) Wal-Mart. It worked out though, because not only did I pick up a toothbrush (mine got left behind in the packing insanity), but we got to see someone get arrested. Woo!

I'm sure I'll get over this cold and everything will be hunky-dory by Wednesday when classes start, but until then, I'll be leading a painful existence. The neck pain was a little less today, which is a good sign. I just have to keep knocking back the Aleve, orange juice and cough drops.

But the one thing that will probably be an issue long into the semester is the lack of hot water in the showers. What the hell? It's not like I shower at peak times (noon today and 7 last night don't exactly find the bathrooms packed), but I can't seem to get any hot water. Cold showers suck, suck, suck. Kill me.

Someone got here by searching for:: "suze sucks orman." Right on! Reading: Nothing. Keep up! Watching: Boston Common and Will & Grace. Listening to: The Ally McBeal where Bobbi Bernstein has a penis.

guestbook | update list

Copyright � 2000-2004 tittlemouse.com
Don't make me break my foot off in your ass.