home | weblog | archive | links | about | host
it hurts when i do this
(the college years)

< November 20, 2003 >

Seven Additional Stories November 20, 2003 1:35 a.m.

my blood hurts

It's that time of year again: nosebleed! It happens every year when the air gets dry and cold and there's really not much to be done about it, other than a trick I picked up from an ancient nurse one year: take a Q-Tip dipped in Vaseline and jam it up there. It will hydrate the nasal cavity, apparently, and I guess it works, but you'll be smelling nothing but Vaseline all winter. I hate these nosebleeds because they always just randomly start at inopportune times, like during class or on a date. I think it's hereditary or something, but if that's the case, I curse my weak genetics.

pressing charges

I was assaulted on the elevator in my building last night. I was headed upstairs after dinner and a fistfight, actually, broke out on the elevator. I wasn't directly involved, but the thrashing began suddenly and unexpectedly and when I didn't get out of the way fast enough, I got slammed into a wall. It didn't hurt, but it did catch me off guard. I managed to cut my arm on the handrail, but not badly enough to make my life on that floor any worse by complaining to anyone.

live and learn

One of the hardest lessons I've had to learn is to appreciate moments as they happen. What if it never does get any better than this? I remember talking about this in youth group and how I was nostalgic about the future. Cognitively, I know what that means, but it's one of those deceptively simple concepts that tends to hide out in the bushes for years at a time. The things and people I encounter are full of wonder, and the only limit on how much of that I am exposed to is my own self. College is an amazing time and it's one I'll never have again. One semester has already flown by, which means I have at least seven left. I need to be sure not to waste them.

all my exes...end up getting arrested for drug possession

Protein asked me the other day for a refresher on my feelings regarding Aaron Sorkin creator and executive producer of Sports Night. Since I've never really expounded on the topic in this space, I felt it was time. Aaron Sorkin is the televisual equivalent of an ex-wife. We had a fantastic relationship, but it was too beautiful to last. He left me (or rather, my show) and took all his loving to another network with a better track record at promotion. He couldn't even handle that union though and he has since been replaced at The West Wing by a totally abusive husband. So much wasted potential.

familiar territory

Today my first op-ed of the year appears in the pages of College University's rag. It's a nice little piece that tears into everything and everyone on this campus who gives it anything less than their best and yet expects to get some huge return out of it. I vaguely remember calling the school a "day camp with fancy diplomas" and I may or may not have said some inflammatory things about politicians near and far, but it doesn't really matter. This is the last issue of the semester and the shitstorm will have to wait until January to commence. Ah, delayed, grammatically incorrect rage. It's the best.

it's in the genes

Why is it that some people can totally make a pair of jeans look hot, whereas other people are lighting small sacrifices because their hips manage to even hold their pants up? Can't we all just buy a reasonable size and show off our rockin' asses? Is that too much to ask? I mean, some people around here have nice butts, but you wouldn't know it to look at them. They're stealth butts, quietly creeping their way into the collective butt archive. This would make a good museum display, I think: Famous Butts in History. I'll go call the Smithsonian.

that's moore like it

That bastard Roy Moore got fired last week from his chief justice position after the whole Ten Commandments monument debacle. Now the word on the street is that he may run for president, which...would be a sight to see. I hope he does, because I think I'd really enjoy watching him go down in flames. Also, whatever tiny fundamentalist percentage of the vote he'd get would just chip away that much from Bush, which is always good. Bring on the election, bitches. I'm ready to vote.

Someone got here by searching for: anderson cooper sex gay And: dateline webcam college Reading: The rag, so I can be prepared to defend my piece. Listening to: Gin Blossoms Watching: The OC. Finally. I'm still, like, a month behind, but I'm getting there. Eating: Appetizers and dessert at Ruby Tuesday. Fuck the main course.

guestbook | update list

Copyright � 2000-2004 tittlemouse.com
Don't make me break my foot off in your ass.