home | weblog | archive | links | about | host
it hurts when i do this
(the college years)

< September 26, 2003 >

The Friday Five, #4 September 26, 2003 2:25 p.m.

Some unbelievable person at the Friday Five has decided to rudely take a week off. Thus, my laziness was put off for a whole two minutes whilst I perused the archive for a suitable filler five. Thus, my Friday Five is kicking it old school this week, with questions that originally appeared on the site the week of September 21, 2001. Enjoy.

1. Where were you born (city or state or just country)?

I was born in the wilderness of Montana (okay, actually a hospital). It�s actually a really beautiful state, but I'm not sure I could live there full-time. Don't get me wrong, because I love everything about the winter: the snow, the ice, the power outages, the school cancellations. But in Montana, the winters are not playing around. It's cold. It's rough. It's rugged. It's great in the summertime, but January will kill you.

2. What is your favorite number?

This is an excellent question. I don�t know that I have a favorite number per se. I know that I don�t have a lucky number. I�m partial to even numbers over odd numbers; I�m not quite sure why. I guess it seems more orderly. When I was in elementary school, I would assign personalities to the individual numbers. 7 was always suicidal or something. 9 was a conniving con artist bent on thwarting my attempts at addition. And the smaller numbers seemed to be weaker than the larger numbers. 6 was sort of neutral; he got along with everybody. He had to look after his cousin 3. I don�t know what possessed me to create a whole backstory for One Numeral to Count, but it might have had something to do with my deep-rooted hatred of mathematics. I just don't like it. Now that I'm in college, it's not even an issue of my not understanding it, because it has finally clicked after thirteen years. I just don't see the point. It's a chore. This is why I'm going to be an accountant when I grow up.

3. Vanilla or chocolate?

A conversation I've had many times with many different people. I had it once already today, as a matter of fact. Vanilla or chocolate...hmm. It depends on what we're talking about. If it's food, I'm always partial to chocolate ice cream, chocolate candy bars (maybe the reason there are so few vanilla candy bars is that there is zero market for them), chocolate syrup. I do like the smell of vanilla extract, though, and there's nothing wrong with good old vanilla sex, but there's nothing wrong with mixing it up a little either. It's a coin toss, probably. They both have their strong points, but chocolate probably has the advantage, especially in the kitchen.

4. What section of a bookstore would I find you in?

There are a few sections you might catch me in. I usually give the entertainment/movies/TV shelf a once-over before declaring it crap and moving on. The bookstore is the one place I'll actually sit down and read the tabloids, because they're fun to read but I'm not tearing the pavement up to get the new edition of the Enquirer each Wednesday. I'll read the expensive, self-important fag rags in the periodicals section too, and occasionally I'll thumb through the satellite program guide (I don't know).

If you're looking for my serious reading, I'll be in either the scandalous paperback mystery section or the social science � gay section, waiting for something more substantial than Men Are Pigs But We Love Bacon to come along.

An aside: what the hell is John Grisham's problem? Does he not understand that I don't give a crap about his childhood growing up in the south, frolicking in the fields and sucking at football? This man has ventured outside his acceptable genre (legal thrillers) yet again with the unacceptable Bleachers. What a jerk. I bet this one gets made into a CBS movie of the week just like the last one.

5. What kind of mattress do you have on your bed? soft? firm? water?

Well, I have the standard-issue dorm mattress on my bed right now. I don�t have any major complaints. It's sort of firm, but it has a little give. I suppose it's soft but firm. And I have to say that I absolutely love water beds. They make me very excited. I don't get seasick or anything; I just like to lie there and enjoy the sloshing of the water in sync with my various tosses and turns. Water beds are hella fun, y'all.

Someone got here by searching for: Celebrities with high school diplomas without college And: sheryl crow swallow Reading: I'm in the home stretch with Lucky You, which is good because it's due back today. I suck at reading for pleasure anymore. Listening to: The man behind me in the computer lab talk about homework or something. He sounds just like John Goodman. Watching: I'm the One That I Want. Margaret Cho is funny, but I don't think she's as funny as she thinks she is. "I'm a fag hag" is not a joke. And: The season premieres of Ed, The West Wing, and Law & Order. Ed and Carol finally did it, Allison Janney kicked all kinds of ass as usual, and Serena found new and more evil ways to annoy the crap out of me. Eating: Breadsticks. Drinking: Diet Coke and red Kool-Ade of an indeterminate flavor. But not both at the same time.

guestbook | update list

Copyright � 2000-2004 tittlemouse.com
Don't make me break my foot off in your ass.